The Mystery of a Butcher’s shop

Chapter I: Inconsiderate Behaviour of a Passenger to America

Chapter II: Farcical Proceedings during an Afternoon in June

Chapter III: Midsummer Madness

Chapter IV: Spreading the News

Chapter V: Another Gardener

Chapter VI: Thursday

Chapter VII: The Tale of a Head

Chapter VIII: Second Instalment of the Same Tale

Chapter IX: Inspector Grindy Learns a Few Facts

Chapter X: He Puts Two and Two Together

Chapter XI: Further Discoveries

Chapter XII: The Inspector Has His Doubts

Chapter XIII: Margery Barnes

Chapter XIV: What Happened at the ‘Queen’s Head’

Chapter XV: The Culminster Collection Acquires a New Specimen

Chapter XVI: Mrs Bradley Takes a Hand

Chapter XVII: The Stone of Sacrifice

Chapter XVIII: The Man in the Woods

Chapter XIX: The Skull

Chapter XX: The Story of a Crime

Chapter XXI: Savile

Chapter XXII: The Inspector Makes an Arrest

Chapter XXIII: Mrs Bradley’s Notebook

Chapter XXIV: The Murderer

About the Author

Gladys Maude Winifred Mitchell – or ‘The Great Gladys’ as Philip Larkin described her – was born in 1901, in Cowley in Oxfordshire. She graduated in history from University College London and in 1921 began her long career as a teacher. She studied the works of Sigmund Freud and attributed her interest in witchcraft to the influence of her friend, the detective novelist Helen Simpson.

Her first novel, Speedy Death, was published in 1929 and introduced readers to Beatrice Adela Lestrange Bradley, the heroine of a further sixty-six crime novels. She wrote at least one novel a year throughout her career and was an early member of the Detection Club along with G. K. Chesterton, Agatha Christie and Dorothy Sayers. In 1961 she retired from teaching and, from her home in Dorset, continued to write, receiving the Crime Writers’ Association Silver Dagger Award in 1976. Gladys Mitchell died in 1983.


Speedy Death

The Longer Bodies

The Saltmarsh Murders

Death at the Opera

The Devil at Saxon Wall

Dead Men’s Morris

Come Away, Death

St Peter’s Finger

Printer’s Error

Brazen Tongue

Hangman’s Curfew

When Last I Died

Laurels Are Poison

The Worsted Viper

Sunset Over Soho

My Father Sleeps

The Rising of the Moon

Here Comes a Chopper

Death and the Maiden

The Dancing Druids

Tom Brown’s Body

Groaning Spinney

The Devil’s Elbow

The Echoing Strangers

Merlin’s Furlong

Faintley Speaking

Watson’s Choice

Twelve Horses and the

Hangman’s Noose

The Twenty-third Man

Spotted Hemlock

The Man Who Grew Tomatoes

Say It With Flowers

The Nodding Canaries

My Bones Will Keep

Adders on the Heath

Death of the Delft Blue

Pageant of Murder

The Croaking Raven

Skeleton Island

Three Quick and Five Dead

Dance to Your Daddy

Gory Dew

Lament for Leto

A Hearse on May-Day

The Murder of Busy Lizzie

Winking at the Brim

A Javelin for Jonah

Convent on Styx

Late, Late in the Evening

Noonday and Night

Fault in the Structure

Wraiths and Changelings

Mingled with Venom

Добавить отзыв


Вы можете отметить интересные вам фрагменты текста, которые будут доступны по уникальной ссылке в адресной строке браузера.

Отметить Добавить цитату